On Wisconsin! I want a beer!

I’m going to admit that I feel a little funny writing about this topic at 8:30 on a Saturday morning, but it must be done. After all, how often do you see a game like last night’s FSU/Badger NCAA first-round tournament basketball game? Better question I have: How often do you see a game like last night’s FSU/Badger NCAA first-round tournament basketball game sans beer?

Last night’s events got me thinking…not like this is the first time it’s crossed my mind in the 25 weeks I’ve been pregnant, but every time it gets more and more irritating. Don’t get me wrong – it’s not like I was a raging alcoholic pre-pregnancy, but I was a huge fan of ordering a glass of wine when out to dinner with the girls, or having a nice cold Honeyweiss after a rough day on the job or, oh I’ll even throw in a solid evening on Block E dancing til the cabs came home. So, if you’re anything like me, when you pee on a stick one day and you’re officially off alcohol for the next 9 months with no warning and no “last goodbye”, times like happy hours or NCAA basketball tournaments feel a little…less…energetic.

I honestly didn’t think I would mind going cold-turkey (speaking of, you can’t have cold turkey either) when I first found out I was pregnant. Who would? You are carrying a little miracle that you, with the help of that “insert-your-own-adjective” man, created together. You made life. You have life inside of you. You are CARRYING LIFE, for God’s sake! So, yes doctor, I can carry life for 9 months drinking orange juice and crystal lite. Sure…no problem.

5 months pass…can I get some vodka in this crystal lite please? No. No, you still cannot.

So, that is where I am at this morning. My late Friday nights on the town have turned into early morning walks with Nate and the dog…and, truth be told, I prefer the feeling of fresh spring air on my unshowered face than cold bathroom tiles under my hungover butt. But, when I’m in that moment – game-winning shot with 2.8 seconds left on the clock and your team is down by 1 – I don’t think about that early morning walk…I think about the Summit Pale Ale that my husband is drinking and how wonderful it would be to celebrate the victory in that fashion. The grass is always greener. You always want what you can’t have. Don’t cry over spilled milk. Blah, blah, blah.

Bottom line is: I will look back at orderingย  all those dreaded lemonades at O’Garas Pub and laugh, because some day my little boy will look up at me, juice cup in hand, and NOT say, “Can I get some vodka in this crystal lite please?” He’ll just be satisfied with juice.

Tagged , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “On Wisconsin! I want a beer!

  1. Fuad Reveiz says:

    You are thinking about this all wrong, Nicki… yeah, you are going to miss a drink here or there – who wouldn’t?

    What you have created here is an opportunity. When one vice gets shut-down you need to find a NEW vice that is baby approved! How about visiting the baby doc? I’m thinking if you were to go 2-3 times per week for the next 4 months or so, that would about cover the need for the occaisional drink or happy hour ๐Ÿ™‚

    Seriously though, this is pretty entertaining reading.

  2. sarah says:

    hi! your baby photographer here ๐Ÿ™‚

    a good friend had a baby last fall, and she had a hard time not drinking too…..in the process, she found some of the BEST NA beer out there! if you’re interested, let me know and I’ll hook you up ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Mandak says:

    When you hit trimester three an occassional red wine is OK. At least, that’s what my Dr. told me. I listened. Twice. (or three times…can’t really be sure)

  4. Nicole says:

    Loving the blog. Laughing my tail off. You really make me want to pee on a stick some day…..errrr not now! Keep the random thoughts flowing.

  5. Missy says:

    Nicki – once again you had me laughing! Didn’t know you were so funny! Giving up the alcohol for 9 months can be a challenge…but try breast feeding and then get pregers again while still breast feeding child #1 and then breast feed child #2…not looking for any sympathy just sayin’ my alcohol consumption has gone way down…i guess my twin has picked up my slack ๐Ÿ˜‰ i did happen to enjoy a beverage during the game last nite tho…not to rub it in!

  6. Gary says:

    One Correction…and I am your father so I KNOW…actually, you WERE a raging alcoholic pre-pregnancy! Oh wait,,,,,that wasn’t you, it ..er,..was…hey..NICE blog. Love your writing style. Lil gross at times but hey, it’s 2009.

Leave a Reply

