And I mean it, from the bottom of my fetus…

Welcome world! Welcome to the frighteningly irreverent, non-judgmental, explosive diarrhea of a headache I call my pregnancy. OK, that sounded bad. It’s not that bad. I’m just trying to break the ice.

As you probably could have guessed, I’m a pregnant woman at the ripe old age of 28 and I have a lot to say about that. I have a lot to learn about that too. Hence, why I am sharing my every last thought with the world, unedited, mind you.

I had the idea to start this blog today on the toilet. Nope, I’m not going to beat around the bush…I was on the toilet – a public one (even grosser). The thought came when I once again experienced the “la, la, la…look at me getting so much work done in my cubicle…la, la, llllaaaaaaa – holy mother of GOD, I have to PEE” feeling. And, you get up from your seat and have about 11 seconds (I haven’t timed it, but I’m guesstimating) to get your pregnant butt onto a toilet seat. Well, this was a day when I barely – and I mean barely – made it. As I sat there I wondered, “Do other women do this? Does it bug them as much as it bugs me? Am I being completely irrational?” (OK, don’t answer that last part)

Don’t get me wrong. I’ve had plenty of pregnant friends and have hung out with a good number of babies in my day, but I gotta admit, growing my own is way different. I have a friend who just went through the most difficult labor I could ever imagine. I have a friend who has experienced baby-heartbreak. I have friends who didn’t know they were pregnant until very late into it. I have friends who only focus on the good, who only focus on the bad, and who steer pretty well towards the middle of the road. Everyone has a story and mine is nothing special. There is nothing dramatically wrong with me (I’m Type I Diabetic, but that’s in pretty solid control) and I can feel my baby boy kick on a regular basis. But, in this world, everyone has a different outlook on growth, and mine just happens to vary quite drastically from day to day.

“The Pregnancy Diaries” is basically a monologue of my thoughts (err, brain spasms) as I go through the weeks. I welcome your comments and advice. In fact, being that my baby-growing knowledge is pretty much at the level of a 2nd grader, I’ll be inviting that advice.

Stick with me – rumor has it, the end result is pretty darn worth it.

Tagged , , , , ,

11 thoughts on “And I mean it, from the bottom of my fetus…

  1. Fuad Reveiz says:

    Oh great, I get to comment after “loving, caring, husband, father-to-be guy”… what are the odds that this comment is approved πŸ˜‰

    I suppose the emergency bathroom runs are to be expected, you’ve got a 2.5 lb future field goal kicker jumping up and down on your bladder. Perhaps we can hire some company to come in and shift the cubicles over about 6 feet so there is a more direct route to the bathrooms…

  2. Mandak says:

    How fun! ANother blog for me to follow. At least I’ll have some idea what’s going on in your world!

  3. Sarah says:

    to steal a quote from the past, Nicki you are the funniest person in the world. Seriously. this is hilarious…i can’t wait to read more. now i get to know the inner workings of your mind even though we’re so far apart. your son will be blessed to inherit any of your genes and fantastic creativity and sense of humor. those are so important during pregnancy and parenthood. i know it’s scary, but you are Nate are going to be amazing parents!

  4. Mom-in-law says:

    Nicki,
    You should keep notes and write a book when this is all over….it would be a best seller πŸ™‚
    Just a thought….Nathan Dale Brunner was SOOO worth it. And the best part is that when you get to my age you forget all the bad stuff and get to enjoy everything good….like a special daughter-in-law and soon to be grandson. It comes way sooner than you expect. We are here to support you all the way.
    Kiss my son for me!

  5. Dad-in-law says:

    I don’t think it’s a rumor!!!!!!

    Relax…have fun….enjoy the journey…..he’ll be off to college before you know it. Next thing you know, you’ll be as old as I am now!!!!!!
    That would concern me a whole lot more that the thrill of delivering a son into the world. When in doubt about anything, ask your dad-in-law who just happens to be an expert at these things and beyond! I know, because I keep reminding myself of that. Ha Ha!
    Keep the diarrhea of thoughts coming!!!!!

    ps. Maybe Nate should suspend his consumption as well in a total commitment of support ?????!!!!!!

  6. Andy says:

    not a woman. gladly

  7. Missy says:

    You had me laughin’ so hard Nicki, that I almost had to run to the bathroom – and I’m not even pregnant (NO the one date the other night that my hubby and I have had in 7 months did NOT result in #3!) Having been through it a couple times (minus the traditional vaginal birth), I can say you will be just fine if you continue to keep your sense of humor about the whole thing. I mean it is soooooo worth every sore muscle, stiff joint, sleepless night, incontinent moment, varicose vein, swollen ankle, backache, backed up breast duct, etc. Let me know if you need anything along the way…your very supportive sis-in-law!! ;D

  8. sara says:

    yay nicki! You have such an articulate inter-monologue. Can’t wait to hear all the crazy details. So exciting.

  9. gretchen says:

    Also? Nice header!

  10. gretchen says:

    Hey Nicki, sounds like fun. Or really gross. Or both. I can’t wait to read it and hear your observations about pregnancy. Whee. πŸ™‚

  11. Nate says:

    Great start Nicki…and you’re right…it WILL be worth it. ;o)

Leave a Reply

